a mini foodie road trip


On my second last day in Montreal before heading back home for summer, my big brother Jeff and I decided to go on a mini road trip to the Mile End. It was almost the very first day of summer in Montreal this year, the weather was super nice and it made me wish that I could stay longer! Thanks to the sunshine, the trip was very worthwhile :)

Once I stepped into Figaro, I felt like I was in Europe. Everything in this French cafe just emitted an European lifestyle vibe. Love it.


Salade Exotique: prosciutto, melon, camembert and almond. When I spotted this on the menu, I knew there was nothing more I could ask for in a salad. Essential companion with the mind-blowingly fresh prosciutto: ultra juicy melon. It’s as if they’re soul mates made for each other.

Tofu California: tofu patty with goat cheese and Dijon mustard
It was very refreshing since it’s quite rare to find such a combination with tofu, cheese and mustard together. I’m a tofu/cheese lover so I might be biased….

On the go.


Our final destination was La Cornetteria, an Italian pastry shop located in the Little Italy.

The reason why we were at La Cornetteria: Jeff was craving really badly for some cannoli, which was weird because he’s not even a sweet tooth. Apparently he tried some before in an Italian restaurant but they were over fried, so since then he was on his search for the “Best Cannoli in Montreal”. Luckily, he googled it up and it brought us to La Cornetteria! Google didn’t disappoint us, the cannoli were amazing. The shell of fried pastry dough was freshly baked at the back of the store and the creamy filling was made with ricotta. This Sicilian pastry had me at hello. On a side note: La Cornettia also sells chocolate and other pastries. I bought a small pack of dark chocolate with almond and I would get stock up some more after I return to Montreal!

I hope everyone back in Montreal is enjoying the sunshine and having fun exploring the city! Wish I could be there to enjoy the rare days of good weather but I’m also very excited to be back at home. From now on, I’ll be posting my foodie adventures in my motherland Hong Kong. Warning: you might be drooling all over your screen when reading this blog.

Figaro
514 278 6567
5200 Rue Hutchison
Montréal, QC
H2V 4B5
Figaro (Le) on Urbanspoon

La Cornetteria
514 277 8030
528 St.Laurent
Montreal, QC
http://www.lacornetteria.com/
La Cornetteria on Urbanspoon

a.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Montreal Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “a mini foodie road trip”

  1. May 8, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    thank you for passing by, we are happy you enjoyed it .

    Alex

    • May 8, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

      thanks for stopping by on my blog too alessandro! I would definitely come back for more pastries next time! :) thank you for making such good stuff for us foodies.

Leave a Reply

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

MacLean Fraser

Consultant Chef

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

Lena Desmond

Writer. Traveler. Finding My Feet In This Big Beautiful Place We Call The World.

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Coffee Shop Chronicles

Life and Times of a Barista

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 270 other followers

