Baked Mentaiko & Cheese Rice Cake (明太子芝士年糕) & Fried Miso Eggplant


If people ask me what I do on Friday nights, I think I’ll tell them I run around in my kitchen like a madman.
So yesterday I was baking cookies in the afternoon, then I ran to Avenue du Parc for more groceries, made dinner and made a strawberry and cream for my friend’s 21st birthday. My legs became so sore and by the time I put on my silver sparkly heels, I felt like I would tumble down the stairs once I got out of my house. But overall I’m very proud of what I made for dinner because I finally made MENTAIKO RICE CAKE! The LOVE of my life. I always order this whenever I go to Watami (a Japanese chained restaurant in Hong Kong, they also have stores in Japan), the mentaiko and cheese go so well together.
When I found a stack of Japanese rice cake in Eden, I knew I was going to make some at home. This dish is unbelievably easy to make.


So…. what is mentaiko (明太子)? It’s the marinated roe of pollock and it’s often used in Japanese cuisine.


This is the mentaiko seasoning. I always have a pack stocked on my shelf.
There are 2 individual packs of seasoning with 2 packs of seaweed. I used 1 pack on 4 rice cake and I found it too salty, so half a pack should be good.


Japanese rice cake. They are very chewy and sticky. They taste really good with bacon and teriyaki sauce too!

Baked Mentaiko Rice Cake
Ingredients:
4 pieces Japanese rice cake
1/2 pack of mentaiko seasoning and seaweed
A handful of mozzarella (depends on how much cheese you want)
1 tablespoon Japanese soba soy sauce

Instructions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350 F
2. Defrost the rice cake in the microwave for 1 minute. Put 2 rice cake on a ceramic plate each time to prevent them to stick together
3. Cover the base of the dish with the soba soy sauce and put the rice cake in
4. Spread the mentaiko seasoning on the rice cake
5. Sprinkle mozzarella on top of it
6. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until mozzarella is melted and rice cake is in a light golden colour.
7. Top with seaweed. Serve immediately.

Fried Miso Eggplant
Ingredients:
1 eggplant
A Handful green onions
1-2 tablespoon red miso paste
Pinch of salt
2 tablespoon Japanese soba soy sauce
2 tablespoon water

Instructions:
1. Cut the eggplants in slices
2. Put the salt in a bowl of water and let the eggplant set in it for 5 minutes (this is to prevent people who are a bit allergic to eggplants)
3. Drain the water and spread the miso paste on both sides of each eggplant slice
4. Fry the eggplants in oil until they are golden
5. Fry the green onions for 1 minute. Put the eggplants onto a plate
6. Mix the soba sauce and water together and pour over eggplants
Serve immediately

That’s it for now. I’m heading out to do a MRC review for Nil Bleu. Can’t wait for my first time having Ethiopian food!

a.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Daily Noms, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “Baked Mentaiko & Cheese Rice Cake (明太子芝士年糕) & Fried Miso Eggplant”

  1. March 12, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Yuuum! My tummy is growling now, these both look so good. I’m such a sucker for eggplant and that cheesy rice cake sounds amazing.

    • March 12, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Thanks Lola! You should try making some at home and let me know how it goes! :)
      Btw, I love your blog! And thanks for visit mine and do drop by often!
      – a.

  2. kohei
    March 12, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    This was the best food I’ve had since college life

  3. Sandy
    July 31, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    where can I buy mentaiko??? I just read this recipe (lemon juice, mentaiko, pasta, shiso leaves, grated daikon, seaweed and parmesan cheese) and it just sounds delicious, but have no idea where to find the main ingrédient :p

    • August 1, 2012 at 1:23 am #

      hey sandy!

      you can get mentaiko in most of the asian supermarkets/ grocery stores. you can buy those packaged mentaiko seasonings for the recipe that I posted here.

      hope you can find it! and thanks for stopping by!

      ash.

      • Sandy
        October 13, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

        any place in montreal??? I haven’t found it yet.

      • Ashley
        October 13, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

        they have the mentaiko at the Eden korean supermarket on Avenue du Parc!

      • Sandy
        October 13, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

        kisses! thanks !! going there tomorrow :)

      • Ashley
        October 15, 2012 at 12:10 am #

        let me know how it goes! you can get the rice cake there too

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

