Some classic chocolate chip cookies


Last Friday, I made 3 batches of cookies for my friend Julie’s 21st birthday since she told me she was craving for sweet stuff.
It was my second time baking cookies and it finally turned out the way that I wanted!

Honestly I never thought of myself as a baker. I never baked before I came to Montreal. Oh, and the oven at my home back in Hong Kong has never been used. Why so?
Let’s wind back a little bit. Ashley, age 5. She was curious about everything and then she spotted that white oven in the kitchen.
Next thing her mum realized, Ashley turned the dial and mum freaked out. Since then, the oven has never been touched and became the taboo in the house. (I know, I know…. all of this doesn’t make any sense) That poor thing….. I think I’ll grant the oven its life back once I go back to Hong Kong this summer.


I put 1 tablespoon of molasses in the dough and the cookies came out soft and crunchy at the same time.
The original recipe is supposed to be very soft and chewy but I prefer this texture better.

I used this awesome recipe from the Pastry Affair, it’s one of my favourite blogs for baked goods.
Here’s the original recipe:

Yields about 3 dozen

3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar, packed
1 cup vegetable shortening
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons mild molasses (or 1 tablespoon regular molasses)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2-3/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 degrees C).

In a large mixing bowl, blend together the granulated and brown sugar. Cream together the sugars and vegetable shortening until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing well between additions. Mix in the vanilla extract and mild molasses.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the baking soda, salt, and flour. Gradually add the flour mixture to the batter. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Scoop cookies onto a baking sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the top is lightly browned. Remove from oven and leave cookies on baking sheet for a few minutes so the cookies can set. Transfer to a cooling rack to cool completely.

a.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Montreal Restaurant Reviews, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

