All the good old times


Even though my summer has barely started, I’m already super excited about everything because a lot of my friends are coming to visit Hong Kong and I get to bring them around! So yesterday I met up with my friend from McGill and his sister for some good old times Chinese food. Our first stop was Mido Cafe, an old style Chinese “Tea Restaurant” (茶餐廳) on Temple Street. Mido’s history is dated back to the 1950s and it’s often used to film movies. Its decor is very special as nothing has really changed since it was opened more than 60 years ago.

Red Bean Ice with Lotus Seeds (literally translated:紅豆蓮子冰)$25 (HKD)
Since it had been forever that I had a red bean ice…. I died when I had my first sip. It’s one of the drinks that children/students always choose when they have lunch in fast food chain stores such as Cafe De Coral (大家樂)/ Fairwood (大快活).The lotus seeds were just sweet enough and blended well with the red bean. Lotus seeds are often used in Chinese desserts/drinks and they have the function of anti-aging!


Egg White with Rice (芙蓉蛋飯)
It was made just right, the egg white wasn’t fully cooked so it was smooth yet crispy on the outside.


Baked Pork Chop with Rice (焗豬扒飯)
This has always been one of the Hong Kongers favourite dishes. The sauce is made with tomatoes.


The nylon light of Mido Cafe’s banner shining through the window

My friend Terence and his sister Rebecca. It’s their first time visiting HK so here’s a big, warm welcome! I can hardly wait for our next food/shopping trip together.

Honeymoon Dessert  (滿記甜品) is my all time favourite sweet place to go for some late night snackings. They have a lot of franchises opened all around Hong Kong and I’d say most of them produce their desserts in the same great quality.

Mango Grass Jelly in Vanilla Sauce (芒果白雪涼粉)
The vanilla sauce isn’t too sweet as they put finely crushed ice into the sauce so it has a crunchy yet milky texture. Needless to say, the mango is as sweet and fresh as ever.

Mango Pomelo & Sago Grass Jelly with Sweet Soup and Matcha Ice Cream (楊枝甘露涼粉+綠茶雪糕)
Definitely a classic. Who doesn’t love sago?

Durian Grass Jelly in Vailla Sauce 榴鏈白雪涼粉)
I’ve come to realize that everytime I go to Honeymoon, I order this dessert. I just can’t simply express my love for durian in words. I don’t know how they do it but Honeymoon serves Durian dessert throughout the whole year and they always taste really fresh. To all the durian lovers: pay a visit to the Honeymoon in Sai Kung since they have more options of durian desserts there!

Mido Cafe (美都餐室)
G/F, 63 Temple Street, Yau Ma Tei
Yau Ma Tei Station: Exit C
油麻地廟街63號地下

Honeymoon Dessert (滿記甜品)
Shop 409, Level 4,
Langham Place, 8 Argyle Street, Mong Kok
旺角亞皆老街8號朗豪坊4樓409號

a.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “All the good old times”

  1. May 11, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    All the desserts look so yummy!!!

    • May 11, 2012 at 7:07 am #

      Yea they’re all soooo good. I go there everytime when I go back to hong kong :)

      • May 11, 2012 at 7:26 am #

        So nice~ This post’s making me hungry for desserts!

  2. May 11, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    go out for some desserts/ bake some cookies at home? ;)

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

