Beef & Corn Stone-pot Rice


It’s already my 4th day back in Hong Kong and my jetlag has never been this worse. I tend to wake up at 6 in the morning and I’ll crawl myself out of bed and begins a day with…. good food and books. Not that I’m complaining but my body is just so exhausted all the time and I feel like I can pass out in any minute. I’ve been going out everyday for dim sum/meet up with friends but so far I still haven’t had the chance to go somewhere further (aka the Hong Kong Island) to try something more different and new. For now, I have a huge craving for some Korean food that’s so spicy that will make my jaw drop and a set of tea and pastries as a treat for myself so I can relax for an afternoon with a book on the other hand. Since good pastries and tea are a rare find around the area I live in, I’ll wait for my best friend Rebecca to come back from Egypt so we can go on a foodie trip together.


This beef and corn stone-pot rice was my special request for dinner at home last night. My mum always likes to ask me what I would like to eat before she gets the groceries. Since I know there are two new family members who just joined our family – the stone-pots, I asked mama yue to make me some stone-pot rice. This was her first time creating it with beef and corn and it turned out really well (as usual, she rarely fails). Sometimes I think mama yue is like those Sims who can kick up notches on whatever dishes they make.

Served for 2
125g US thin sliced beef (short ribs/whatever kind they have)
1 corn
2 bowl of rice
few spoonful (according to your own palate) beef bowl rice sauce
Handful green onions
Black pepper

1. Preheat the stone pot on the stove until it’s sizzling hot
2. Spread the rice in the pot. If you want more crispy rice at the bottom, make sure more rice stick to the pot well enough.
3. Leave the center empty and top with pieces of corn (uncooked) around the pot.
4. Spread the raw beef in the middle
5. Sprinkle the green onion/scallops (however you wish to call them) and pepper on the beef and corn.
6. Leave it for a few more minutes so the rice can get crispier
7. Mix all the ingredients together. It’s best to mix the beef and corn on the edges of the pot. This will make them cooked.
8. Add the beef bowl rice sauce onto the beef. Do not mix it with the rice if you don’t want the rice to get soft and less crispy.

Viola! ;)  I recommend to buy the beef from a good groceries store such as CitySuper (if you live in Hong Kong) since they taste so much richer. The beef was around 50 HKD/ 7 CAD and it was enough for 2 people. One of the good things of living in Asia is that there are always fresh yet cheap ingredients!


Beef Bowl Rice Sauce. You can get this in CitySuper (I also bought the beef there) / Japanese groceries store.
So this was my hot date on a Friday night. Enjoy!

a.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Daily Noms, Mama Yue's Home Cooking, Recipes

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

