the food hunter


My full time job this summer: food hunting/ writing book reviews for a project/ reading / summer school / more writing. Since I’m going off to Peking University for summer school in early July, I’ll have no more than two months left in Hong Kong. This is going to be the perfect time for me to catch up on some reading and writing. And of course, FOOD HUNTING. So here’s another report from Ashy the Food Hunter. As I’ve mentioned earlier, I was craving for some Korean food (due to my 4 months departure from Jean Vius, a Korean restaurant in Montreal) so I dragged my parents out with me to Hangsung Co in Tsim Sha Tsui on Mother’s Day. A menu with numbers marked for each dish and a little piece of paper – this is how you order in Hangsung. The rice cake and noodles are all made in the house but I’ve yet to try them (since we didn’t feel like having something heavy). I would say the food was average in total. The beef bulgogi was not too sweet and the rest of the dishes were alright. However, I would love to come back for the noodles/rice cake to give it another try!


It’s like a Korean fast food store in someway and there were plenty of Koreans in the restaurant.


Beef Bulgogi


The food hunter is finally back to black. It’s been awfully long that I have my long and black hair. I’ve missed you SO. MUCH.
The chubster in erika raybans, Muji white t, denham pants, ted baker boots & lollipop bag.


In between post-lunch and shopping with my friend Domi, I had some time for myself to read and relax a bit. Cafe Habitu is one of my favourite spots and their Rose Latte is to die for. It wasn’t a coffee day for me so I turned to a simple bottle of pure apple juice and a caramel mousse cake. This caramel mousse was layered with coffee sponge cake and it caught my attention among all the pastries. Within the first few bites though, I was already disappointed since the mousse wasn’t smooth enough and I felt like I was eating jell-o which pretty much explained my disappointment. I guess I’ll just stick with the lemon meringage and chocolate mousse cake next time.

Besides food hunting/reading, I’ll also be working on a writing project on book reviews for the Book Club (a book sharing that I attend once a month whenever I go back to HK where I get to meet a lot of interesting people), which is kind of a challenge as I’ll have to write in Chinese. I’ve been slacking off with my Chinese writing skills so it’s really the time to start polishing it again! I’m very excited with this project as I’ll be working with my B Club fellows: a chubby  British accented guy who teaches English speeches (please don’t punch me I mean this in a good way!) and he’s  a pretty famous youtuber/blogger, a “hot” (uhhhhummmm, as he said so himself) LSE graduate who writes columns for different newspapers (aka this project’s director), a full time daddy who loves to read after he puts his son to sleep, a science teacher who likes to read about religion and has a passion for teaching and sharing his knowledge with his beloved students etc. I’ll keep you posted when the official project is set up!


This golden apple juice is like a bottle of little glittering stars compressed altogether.

Hansung Co.
74-76 Kimberley Road, Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong

Cafe Habitu
Shop L608, The ONE, 100 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui
Hong Kong

a.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “the food hunter”

  1. mr toast
    May 14, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    have you tried Busan Korean Restaurant? It’s also in TST =)

    http://www.hansik.com.hk/intro.php?restid=20

    • May 14, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      nope, but i’ll definitely go try it now that you’ve mentioned it!

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

