Travel catalog: Day 2-4 in Seoul


To be honest, I didn’t get to enjoy street vendors food that much during my stay in Korea. One of the reasons was that I was still sick (the bad flu just wouldn’t go away) and having a bad stomach all the time. It was such a shame since I adore all kinds of street vendors food (I’m not ashamed to admit that I’m a lover of the forever smelly tofu from Hong Kong). The food court at Coex Shopping Mall has a huge selection of different Korean street vendor-style food. I tried the fish cake with fish egg along with the complimentary fish broth.


Dumplings at Myungdong Dumplings


On the 4th day I started exploring the city on my own, this was the first little food gem I found when I was wandering on the street. The owner was really friendly and he kept talking to me in Korean (even though I had absolutely no idea what he was talking about). He gave me a whole bag of mini cakes for just 2 CAD.


These mini cakes with custard fillings made a very satisfying breakfast.


Since I couldn’t check in at my hotel until 2pm (I stayed in a hostel for 3 days before), I spent my time waiting in a cafe in the neighbourhood. The staff probably found me weird as I spent the entire 2 hours reading through my Seoul travel guide and digging my spoon into the green tea and red bean shaved ice.


I bought this fashion magazine/newspaper and look what I’ve found: Kaya Scodelario & Kim Soo Hyun in a Korean accessories brand’s advertisement !!!!!!! I literally had my jaw dropped on the floor with an OMG hanging in the air.


The rest of the day was just walking around in Insadong and taking pictures of some traditional Korean buildings.


A souvenir store


Korean tea house


The wishing tree at a famous cafe at Insadong. It’s known for couples leaving messages for each other by hanging little pieces of paper up onto the tree.


This restaurant is very cute and cozy but in general it’s a bit overrated because of its appearance on a popular Korean TV show before. I felt like I was eating some really unhealthy, weird-tasting sausage…………


Jujube Latte.

a.

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Travel catalog: Day 2-4 in Seoul”

  1. July 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    such pretty buildings! and wishing tree in a cafe? so awesome!

    • July 3, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      yea! wish i could read korean so i can know what did those people wish for to the wishing tree :P

      • July 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

        yeah. i’m quite curious too. how did u get around without knowing korea, btw? O.o

      • July 3, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

        i have quite a few friends in seoul so it was okay for the first few days of my trip…. then i started exploring around and use my body language/ chinese (some of them speak chinese in tourist area) to survive !

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

