Beijing 1. the bookworms and munchies


It was one of those days when I wanted to get out of the neighbourhood, so I looked up for a good place to go to in Beijing on Lonely Planet. That’s how I found this magical place called The Bookworm, which is a library/bookshop/bar/restaurant/event space (for book talks, readings, debates, pub quiz etc). Upon arriving at The Bookworm, my whole body softened and I felt like I was lulled into a trance. The moment that I took in everything in front of me: the dim lighting hanging down from the canvas, numbers of bookshelves, huge glass windows, high tables … By then I already knew this place would be my regular spot to go during my stay in Beijing.


And so over a cup of tea and dinner, Alex A. and I shared our 3 favourite books of all time. Honestly, there are more than 3 favourites in my life, but I managed to utter a few titles. The Bookworm has more than 1,6000 titles and I’m going to sign up for the membership next time so I can borrow their books there.


Alex A (the other guy behind the salty crepe video), a bookaholic and foodie just like me. He hates it when I call him the cute, chubby hamster.


Just a regular cup of Twinings breakfast tea.


Duck Palette platter with Brie cheese.


Lamb shank.


blurrrrred and me looking very satisfied for the night.


on the way back to global village (our dorm), taking metro here takes forever to get back to Peking U ….

The Bookworm
Building 4, NanSanlitun Road,
Chaoyang District, Beijing
Average spending: around 100 RMB for dinner (order the duck palette platter with tea as a set is around that price), around 20-50 RMB for tea & coffee.

a.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Beijing 1. the bookworms and munchies”

  1. July 6, 2012 at 5:23 am #

    Oh my. That place looks absolutely gorgeous. It would definitely be my favourite hangout if I were anywhere near Beijing.

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

      Hope you would get the chance to visit Beijing soon then! Thanks for dropping by :)

  2. July 7, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    the bookstore is surely interesting!

    • July 7, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      yes it is! Thanks for dropping by :)

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

