Beijing 5. the sunshine after the storm


Experienced the heaviest rain in 61 years in Beijing just 3 days ago and guess where I was on that Saturday morning: the Great Wall of China. It just wouldn’t stop raining but at least it wasn’t flooded there, unlike all the other areas in Beijing (including Peking University campus).

The Saturday morning when I walked up the steepest steps I’ve ever walked on, being so high up there at the Great Wall and silently talking to my beloved teacher in my heart:
“I’m so, so, sorry that I couldn’t make it to your funeral this morning. and that I’ve never made it to the lunch that I promised you. I’ll always remember how you teach us to never forget June 4th, your tears when you told us what happened back in 1989 and your beautiful laughs in your chinese history lessons. Thanks for remembering me even you only taught me for one year. Rest in peace, Miss So.”

*
On that evening:

the unforgiving rain kept going on and on , thunders and lightning dancing together in the sky, as we walked to Cheng Fu road for dinner.

~ after 5 minutes of walking ~
as my boots got completely soaked in the rain, I tried my best to tune out the creaky screaming around me: “OMG I HATE RAIN” ” THIS IS HORRIBLE” “I HATE THIS SO MUCH” “ARRRRGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!” “ROARRRRRRRRRRRRRRR”. “I HATE THIS I HATE THIS I HATE THIS!!!!!”

……………………………

As we walked along, the Hamster said “I realize we’re those people who just keep their silence in such shitty situation.”
They say 心靜自然涼 (if you let your heart rest, your body will feel calm. excuse for my poor translation) there’s nothing truer than that.

There are good things on shit days too. Like pepperoni pizza, some good fries and onion rings. and when the screaming
finally

stopped.


My parents are going to freak out when they see me bringing these back to Hong Kong. My little library at my dorm in Beijing. I brought a few books from home with me but I bought most of the books in Beijing, the Chinese books are just dirt cheap compared to the ones in Hong Kong.

&. I. Won’t. Let. Go. Of. The. Perfect. Chance. To. Cure. My. Deprivation. Of. Chinese. Reading.

I always get this from people: I never thought that you are such a bookworm.
Well, surprise.

*
There is always sunshine after the storm. After the massive flood on Saturday, the sun finally came out the next day.

Bucket list for the day:
1. Books shopping spree
2. Eat my beloved Bing Tang Hu Lu (those sinful red sugar-coated sweets on a stick)
3. Jasmine ice cream (I don’t know where else to find them except the tea shop at Wangfujing)
4. Accompany friends to Silk Market but secretly dragging the idea of walking in the mall for hours …. another surprise: I hate shopping. Okay let me put it better this way: I hate shopping for hours. My legs tend to get sore within 2 hours.

By the end of the day:

Almost bought the whole chinese bookstore down (if only Hamster didn’t stop me…..), sacrificed not to go to the foreign language bookstore to avoid some possible tandrums, had my nom-nom snacks, half-forced a blondie to try bing tang hu lu and asserted firmly that the red haw coated with sugar was merely “just a fruit” and that it’s not “weird” and definitely “not disgusting”. I don’t like people keep judging my food … It’s fine if you don’t like it, but please show some respect to the food that I’m about to eat.

AND I spent the whole afternoon reading in the cafe next to the silk market. So the nightmare of shopping for hours never came.
My day was complete.


How does time always slip through our fingers without us noticing? 4 weeks, then 2. And then before I knew it, we’re already counting down our last few days in Beijing


The No Name Lake at Peking University.


The pages keep turning, I’ll mark off each day with a cross
And I’ll laugh about all that we’ve lost.

*All photos taken with the Pudding Camera app on my Galaxy SII.

a.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Books, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

