lights, berries & the sweetness of summer

What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness. – John Steinback

Oh hello, Montreal.

*
Marked my 5th day back in Montreal, and I’m still having this tingling, weird feeling of being back to my second home. I was gone for a long time that was enough to make up an academic semester and traveling in Asia was too much fun. I remember back in May I told all my friends “I’ll see you guys  in 4 months!”, then *blink*. I’m back.

On my first night back to this wonderland there were a lot of confusion and mixed feelings. It almost felt unreal when my friend texted me “Welcome home!”. When I was cabbing back home from the airport, I looked around outside the window. Warm lights blanketed over the road and everything was so peaceful. The air, the sky, the whole ambiance. Everything in this city is so different from Hong Kong. I love Montreal with all my heart, yet this weird feeling still lingers around at a tiny corner of my head. Still, I’m glad to be back and I’ll get to see all my friends again.


lunch at the st. laurent area


Marche Jean Talon. Having your friends coming for a visit is always a good reason to go out and explore the city. I had always wanted to go to Jean Talon and I finally made it this summer when my friends came to visit during the weekend. It’s the perfect time to buy berries and all kinds of fruits! *goofy smile*

poulet: some stir fry chicken that smells extremely good

just heard from my roomie that the red ones are good for making potato salad. should make some one day!


the lads (from left to right: chris and peter) from Mississauga visiting Montreal. We spent an awesome weekend together (even though I could have been more energetic if it’s not because of my jetlag…) and it’s only my first week back!


such a beautiful cat


People adapt. People change. You can grow where you’re planted. – Sarah Addison Allen
What I like about Jean Talon is that you can take a sample of the fruit before buying them. The rich flavor of the peach danced on my taste buds and washed over my palate with a happily-ever-after sweetness. I couldn’t resist not buying these ripe peaches and so I brought some of these ontario goodies home with me.


When I saw all the pastries at Premiere Moisson, I couldn’t swipe off the foolish smile on my face.


note: awkward peeled orange skins were chris’s work.

These caramel biscuits made me forget all those weird feelings. They are like magic. Sooooo buttery.



erable lollies – anyone wants me to bring some maple syrup back to Hong Kong in Christmas?

Because the world is changing so fast all the time. There’s nothing you can do but just say, ‘cool’, and roll with it.
But some things can stay the same. flour is still flour. Vanilla still smells like vanilla. – R.A. Nelson

a.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Daily Noms

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “lights, berries & the sweetness of summer”

  1. August 22, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Nice post and lovely photographs. I can’t wait to visit Montreal again :)

    • August 22, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

      thanks! have a great time in montreal when you come visit next time! :) and thanks for stopping by :)

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

