Cakes, tea and lovers.


As long as I can remember, I’ve been having a love affair with cakes and tea from the moment I was born. Instead of craving for chocolate, I crave for cakes and tea. Luckily, I have enough friends in Hong Kong who are as much as a foodie as I am. So just a week before I left Hong Kong (for another couple of good months), T brought me to this newly opened (it’s new to me since I’ve been on and off with HK) patisserie in Wan Chai. It’s unhealthy to be friends with you, T. ‘Cause every time we hang out that means more and MORE FOOD.


Marble cheesecake


Raspberry mousse (I love anything that has raspberry in it): its original name is actually much longer and it’s in french… I can no longer remember what it is. It would be have been better if the sponge cake layers weren’t so dry.

Mango Mont Blanc. This is no ordinary chestnut pastry that you find in those A1 bakeries (Hong Kongers you know what I’m talking about!). This cake has a mango mousse filling, can you believe that? I never thought of mango and chestnut can be put into the same formula. Well, obviously, I was wrong. It looks AND tastes absolutely perfect. Instead of gobbling it all down at once, I succeeded in savoring every bite of it.
Just slowly digging in. Was doubting where did the mango mousse go. Still, it was a love at first bite.
The silky chestnut strands, the mango mousse in the center, the white creamy dome … as my spoon kept on adventuring into the depth of the snow of the  mont blanc, I was hoping that it would turn into a little globe of forever.

the cakes on the left were shared by a cute, well-dressed couple (married and young). I know I do eat a lot, more than an average girl according to some of my friends. But I swear I only had the mango mont blanc and raspberry mousse cake. There were a lot of baby and what to-be mummy eats talk at the table. The to-be mummy said she was desperately craving some cakes for her sweet tooth …. so here she was at this patisserie.


Spotted a nice pair of spiky studs shoes near the cashier. Then I realized it’s actually the guy who was sitting to right next to me. Did I mention he has the cutest wife ever and they are waiting for their beautiful baby to be born soon?
the to-be mummy with her prada oxford shoes: she got it in France and these shoes were quite a hit a few years ago back in Hong Kong (with all the faked versions popping out at every shoes store in Mong Kok) This pair that she was wearing is just beautiful.


There’s also a section for baked goods, from a huge loaf of bread to berries danish (which costs around 2 CAD each).



I’m not a fan for cupcakes but they sure look pretty enough.


Then we took the DingDing to the IFC mall.


I’ve passed by TWG a lot of times whenever I go to IFC and finally I went onto my first pilgrimage there this summer. This French tea house is divided into a boutique, selling tea and pastries-to-go and a tea salon for dining and sipping a cup of delicately made tea. TWG is actually a brand from Singapore and there are four TWG tea houses there. They are also opening in other cities around the world, including Dubai and Bangkok.

Going to TWG is like going to a tea academy. There are over 450 blends of tea and my eyes turned into starry eyes as I skimmed through the menu. It’s a love and hate relationship when it comes to deciding which tea to order. Birthday tea, love me tea, amor de pommes, silver moon, singaporean breakfast tea…. each of them sounds like a perfect lover.

T and I both love rose tea so it was easy to pick what kind of tea out of all those treasure hunts. However, there are still more than 3 choices of rose tea on the tea menu. So we asked the waitress for some advice on which rose tea would suit us best. She’s a tea expert and her explanations of our inquiries were very helpful.


The packagings in TWG are gorgeously designed and I want to take every single of them home and call them my babies. On another note, TWG sells tea in all kinds of boxes and containers… The Valentine Breakfast tea is a mixed of rose and breakfast tea. It costs around 32.5 CAD per box (260 HKD).

They also serve tea chocolate and tea-infused patisseries. However, with a student’s budget, it’s hard to want everything in the world ….

Passion by Gerald Dubois
Shop 1, G/F, Fraser Suites, 74-80 Johnston Road, Wan Chai

TWG Tea
Shop 1022-1023, 1/F, Tower One, IFC Mall, 1 Harbour View Street, Central

Because you love, love, love when you know I can’t love

a.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Hong Kong Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Cakes, tea and lovers.”

  1. François
    August 21, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    My guess is that they called it a raspberry Napoleon or Mille Feuille.
    Hopefully helpful 2p =)

    • August 22, 2012 at 2:24 am #

      definitely not the napoleon ’cause they had an actual raspberry napoleon….. i was gonna get it but then i wanted to try something different :P so yea! and see you soon back in montreal :)

  2. hillaryx.
    August 21, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    i hate you and love you at the very same time…
    ARGH :( heheh
    but i always love your posts

    • August 22, 2012 at 2:21 am #

      awwwwwwwwwww! you literally LIVE in hong kong so you can go to cool places all the time :P
      love you hill :) xx

  3. January 29, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

