Patty & Bun

DSC_0773
Before I came to London from Montreal, I bought a Lonely Planet London travel guide and now I’m immensely regretting getting it. Since I have so many friends in London, they’ve all become my personal guides so I don’t even need to read the guide. My summer exchange buddy Alex S. (remember the guy doing the voiceover of the Chinese crepe commentary?) said he was going to bring me to the best burger place in London and the first thing I thought was: “Oh no, not burgers… I’ve had way too many during exam seasons when I’m in Montreal” However, once we arrived at Patty and Bun, I knew we made the right choice to come here for dinner. Because it smells soooooo amazing that you can almost see the juicy smell of the burgers flowing out of the restaurant.

By the time we arrived at P&B at 7ish, the restaurant was all packed already and people were lining up to get in. It took us 50 minutes before we got our seats. BUT, it was definitely, definitely worth the wait (I’m willing to do anything for good food). There was a menu outside the restaurant so we ordered right after we were seated. And oh my, the service was good and fast. Our food came in around 5 minutes and we started wolfing them down without talking much. Alright, it was rather me who wasn’t talking much…. but it was because the food was way too good AND I was way too hungry. I prepared my tummy just for this.
DSC_0776
Chips with rosemary salt
Nothing too special with the chips but I think this is better than any of the chips I’ve had in Montreal (Byebye Smart Burger).DSC_0779
Winger Winger Chicken Dinner – smoked confit wings with BBQ sauce and spring onions
Hands down the best BBQ sauce chicken wings I’ve had in a while! The meat is very tender and the smokiness of the BBQ sauce is just brilliant.DSC_0780

DSC_0782
Lambshank Redemption burger – Lamb patty, coriander & chilli, braised red cabbage, cumin & aloli, feta, broiche
I chose the lamb burger because 1. I’ve never had it before 2. I wanted to try something different 3. I LOVE LAMB and P&B did not disappoint. Lambshank Redemption is everything that you look for in a burger: juicy patty, crispy lettuce and rich, soft Broiche (its origin is France). The lamb patty tastes pretty strong so you might want to have some gums after to avoid bad breath! The red cabbage is braised with vinegar so it’s a bit sour and it goes really well with the lamb and cheese.

Alex S. had the “Smokey Robinson” burger, which has beef patty, cheese, caramelised onions, bacon, ketchup, smokey P&B mayo etc. It’s just as good (I had a bite) and really juicy. He even said he is willing to get fat for P&B, words from the guy who goes to the gym a lot and cares so much about being fit. We were both very satisfied after the meal and we paid around £11 each (around 17 CAD). The service was quick and the waiters were all very nice and chill. The mood is very vibrant with the loud music playing in the background. If you love burger, this is a must-go in London. I recommend going there at around 6pm as the wait in line can be long. But trust me, you won’t regret waiting for this!

Patty and Bun
(close to Bond Street Station)
54 James St
London, UK W1U 1EU

Patty and Bun on Urbanspoon

a.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: London Restaurant Review, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Patty & Bun”

  1. March 8, 2013 at 6:28 pm #

    i like your articles
    wish you a great continuation

    regards

    marrakech excursions

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

