the markets.

DSC_0089
On my last day in London, I went to visit two local markets: Borough market and Broadway market. Borough market only opens from Thursday to Saturday (they close pretty early, so make sure you check the opening hours on their website) and lunch is available from Monday to Wednesday. The market is packed with all sorts of food stalls: cheese, truffles, fresh organic fruit/veggie juice, pastries, sea salt, meat etc. I went there with my friend Kurt on Saturday afternoon and it was so packed that it was almost impossible to walk around… I felt like I was a little sardine packed tightly in a tin.
DSC_0094

DSC_0098
Apple, Pear and Mint juice. It reminds me of the P.A.M. juice I had with BluePrint CleanseDSC_0101

DSC_0104

DSC_0106

DSC_0108
Hot dog with Venison sausage (this is the small portion)
DSC_0113
I found this stall selling little jars of preserves that are made with reduced amount of sugar. There are samplers for you to try as many kind as you want. I bought a jar of raspberry jam and I love how it’s not as sweet as the ones from the supermarket.
DSC_0124
Broadway market
Last stop of the day was Broadway market (close to London Fields Railway station). Broadway has a very different vibe compared to Borough market. It’s not as packed and everyone seems to know each other there. It feels more friendly and more personal – and the stalls are indie and more individualistic. You can even find handmade stationery and wool products there. It’s also an ideal place to visit if you are into street style photography. Everyone looks like they just walk out from The Sartorialist. The only thing that I regretted was that I was too busy taking pictures and I didn’t get to try any of the food at Broadway market. Mushroom risotto, fruit tarts, chocolate truffles…. By the time we finished walking around at 5, the stalls were already closing. DSC_0129

DSC_0144

DSC_0143

DSC_0155
One of the few stalls that we stopped by was Catherine Tough. It sells a variety of wool products, such as lambswool scarfs, socks and lavender animal dolls. I bought a scraf (the christmasy one on the left) and a pair of fox socks and they are adorable. The lambswool is so soft and I love the pattern. The socks are a bit expensive but based on the quality, it’s definitely worth it. If you buy a few items altogether (or with a friend), the owner might give you a discount!

DSC_0120

DSC_0130

DSC_0131

DSC_0133

DSC_0135

DSC_0141

DSC_0142  DSC_0161
Flat White from one of the coffee stalls at the back of the market. Queue can be very long and I waited for 15 minutes. During my trip in London, I was thrilled to find that every cafe serves flat white. I tried to order one at cafes in Montreal before but unfortunately they don’t have it on the menu.

Now that I’m back to Montreal, it feels so weird to be back. I miss London, the smell (I swear it does have a special scent, the air that I inhaled on my arrival day put a smile on my face), the people, the food. There are so much more to do there but I guess it’s just because winter over there is not as brutal as Montreal’s. It feels almost too good to be true that I actually traveled there for 10 days and now that I’m back to Montreal, it’s time to face the reality. Midterms are still not over and finals are already tiptoeing at the corner in a creepy way (arrrrghhhh). I still have a few more posts to write about London so stay tuned!

Borough Market
(near London Bridge station)
8 Southwark St,
London SE1 1TL

Broadway Market
Open on Saturday only from 9am to 5pm
(near London Fields Railway Station)
London
E8 4QB

a.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: London Restaurant Review, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “the markets.”

  1. March 12, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I wish we had more markets in the States like this

    • March 12, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

      Does the States have more local produce markets? Montreal has 2 markets similar to the ones in london, but they sell more food produce.

      • March 12, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

        We do have more produce markets. I wish they sold more artisan foods though. I think most Americans are too squeamish though. I see that changing though with local food movements.

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

