and i whispered “hey, i’m back”

DSC_0737
How many has it been? Five years? It still feels like yesterday when I was studying in Headington back in Oxford. How everything looks like is still fresh in my memories. Our after-dinner singing party right outside the dining hall, making afternoon tea at Napier (millions of cadbury chocolate spread toasts – credits to you Hillary!), house meetings, the annoying sign-in-&-out sheets ……When we arrived on campus after a quick train ride from London, it hit me that this is it. I’m finally back. Sometimes I wonder what it would be like if I stayed in Headington to finish GCSE, would I have stayed for Sixth Form? Perhaps I would change from living at Hillstow to Napier instead?

Our first stop back on campus was Napier. Mrs Graham was thrilled to see us, and when she saw me she had this really puzzled face “Who’s that girl?” Of course she doesn’t remember me, since I was only in Headington for 1 year and I didn’t even get to say goodbye to her properly. Napier has this special smell that when you go inside the boarding house, you know that you’re home. I didn’t go back to my boarding house Hillstow though, I just took a look around outside. I was never really close to my housemistress Madame Sillah (we call her Si Lai) and I literally don’t know anyone who still lives in Hillstow. I guess something will forever be kept in the memory and that’s enough.
DSC_0731
Dining hall. All those miller corner yogurt that I wolfed down here. Horrific memory since all the desserts + yogurt made me gain like 20 pounds (I’m not even kidding) during my first semester in Headington.
DSC_0734
My headingtonian girls: Ansonson, Fung Gor, Natsang. Still missing my j.t.f. Julian, Hillary and Janis!
DSC_0741
At Maths building. It’s weird to imagine a classroom without Miss Smart here. I still remember how she gave us chocolate out of the christmas calendar in class.
DSC_0743
In Geography classroom. I was the odd one out since I was the only one who didn’t take Geography for GCSE in our group. Oh and that carpet smell in the main school building. It makes all of us feel so nostalgic of the time that we studied here.
DSC_0745

DSC_0752
In front of the main school building.
DSC_0753 DSC_0754

DSC_0757
Yes it does look like a turtle….
DSC_0759

DSC_0760

DSC_0727
and we’ll be back again.

a,

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: thoughts and words., Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “and i whispered “hey, i’m back””

  1. Hillary Kong
    March 14, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    omg :(
    so much memories!
    & lovely photos + beautiful people

    • March 14, 2013 at 11:53 pm #

      i know ): when were you there last time?

  2. March 17, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    Greetings from another McGillian who once lived on Oxford! Except I was in preschool and don’t remember much. :P Beautiful photos!

    • March 17, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      thanks for stopping by! :) oxford hasn’t changed much, it’s still as lovely

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

