Taipei x Coffee Shop Girl: Coffee Megane. 眼鏡咖啡

DSC_1232

I just got back from my 6-day Taipei trip and I can’t describe my love for this city in words. This is my third time in Taipei and it was already 8 years ago since I last visited. I’m amazed by their great quality yet affordable food and the possibilities are endless here: the night markets, cafes, dessert places, bubble tea, seafood etc. I’ve explored quite a lot of places during this trip and here’s one of them: Coffee Megane (眼鏡咖啡).

DSC_1230

Located in a quite neighborhood in Daan district, Coffee Megane is a Japanese style cafe that serves a range of tea/milk tea, coffee and homemade baked goods. The literal translation of the store’s name is Glasses Cafe. The owner loves collecting glasses (hence the name + logo) and they are showcased in a little glass cabinet (due to rules of the cafe, I could only take photos from my table, so I didn’t get to take a good photo of the cabinet). There are a collection of lifestyle/art magazines and books, though quite a lot of them are in Japanese.

DSC_1217

DSC_1204

DSC_1206

DSC_1182
I ordered fried apple earl grey pound cake 翻轉蘋果伯爵茶磅蛋糕 (150 NT) and I knew I made the right choice when I saw the other tables got the same thing after. The cake is soft and moist with plenty of caramel crunches and apples sprinkled on top. The taste of earl grey is a bit too light in my opinion, but overall I love it.

DSC_1188
Hojicha milk 深炒焙茶牛奶 (190 NT) is made with hojicha, a Japanese roasted tea and steamed milk. The hojicha gives the milk a very toasty taste and the thick, creamy milk gives a very nice touch.

DSC_1195
Black Bean with Matcha Genmaicha Milk (or as on the menu, Brown Rice Matcha Milk) 黑豆抹茶玄米牛奶 (180 NT) I’m a huge fan of matcha so it’s no surprise that I ordered this. Though I quite regretted it since it didn’t leave me a strong impression. The matcha covered the taste of the genmaicha and I would prefer it more if the drink had a stronger taste of tea.

DSC_1201

DSC_1215

DSC_1216

DSC_1219
Coffee Megane has a great ambiance and it’s simplicity at its best. Being inside the cafe actually makes you think that you’re traveling somewhere in Japan instead of Taipei! They also have a nice outdoor area, with two tables surrounded by lots of plants. Coffee Megane is considered as a high-end cafe in Taipei since a drink normally costs around 50 NT in other places. However, I don’t find it that overpriced since the cafes in Hong Kong are around the same price. The cafe also serves simple lunchset with Japanese rice balls, which I would love to try when I visit Taipei next time!


Coffee Megane. 眼鏡咖啡

No. 6, Lane 52, Si Wei Lu, Daan District, Taipei
台北市四維路52巷6號 ( 德安公園旁 )
Opening hours: 12-10pm (closed on last Wednesday of the month)
Cash only.

a,

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Foodie x Wanderlust, Travel

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “Taipei x Coffee Shop Girl: Coffee Megane. 眼鏡咖啡”

  1. February 20, 2014 at 12:08 am #

    Hope to try when I get back to TW

Leave a Reply

herrootsandwings

The stories of a girl with a gypsies soul, a hippies heart and a dream of writing. A vigilant vagabond of her own soul.

Thirsty For Tea

Modernizing a Classic Tradition

Irenekly

On joyful living

"WANG" Food

Explore cultures through food discovery

Over the Hype

On the hunt for London's quirkiest eats.

A Travel Blog

By Lena Desmond

ThatBluebirdGirl

Occasional soap box, more often ramblings, on business, tea, and running a tea business.

Seoul State of Mind

Korean Lifestyle Blog

atleastimnotchrismoyles

Alt. and Indie Rock with the occasional foray into Electronica.

londonlately

"I think it, on the whole, the best point of view in the world."
 - Henry James

Cooking Addict

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Tonight we are young.

Rambles of a med hopeful

See. Snap. Eat. Repeat.

Mainly London and where our stomach (and money) takes us.

Nag note.

the only snag is that she nags.

